Sign in with your Facebook account to start earning PremierPoint Rewards

Mustangs to Meet McGill in Queen’s Cup Final

Mustangs to Meet McGill in Queen’s Cup Final

It’s not often that CIS hockey dominates the headlines within a city. It’s even harder for an OUA team to capture local attention when they are contending against one of the most competitive Ontario Hockey League teams, the London Knights. But this Saturday, March 10th, the Western Mustangs Men’s Hockey Team will be competing in their second consecutive Queen’s Cup (OUA Championship) after yet another successful season.

So let’s recap how they have made it to this point:

(R-L: Scott Aarssen, Kevin Baker, Chris Corbeil, Keaton Turkiewicz, Adam Nemith, Jason Furlong and Yashar Farmanara – via


The Mustangs finished first in the OUA West Division with an overall record of 20 – 3 – 5 (Wins – Losses – Overtime Losses). This stellar regular season led to the Mustangs earning 5 of 7 Major Awards within the Division.

Coach of the Year: Clarke Singer

Top Rookie: Zach HarndenLead all rookies in goals (17) and points (31)

Top Defenceman: Scott Aarssen (@SAarssen6) – Lead a Mustangs Defence who allowed only 69 goals this season

Top Goaltender: Josh Unice 2nd in the CIS in save percentage (.931)

Most Valuable Player: Keaton TurkiewiczLead the CIS in points (47) in 28 games)

Keaton Turkiewicz – via


The playoffs have been a similar story, seeing the team win each of their Best-of-Three series’; Laurier (2-0), Brock (2-0) and Windsor (2-1).

All of this leading to a one game, sudden death, Queen’s Cup final against the McGill Redmen this Saturday March 10th – 7:30pm at Western’s very own Thompson Arena. So if you are in the Forest City and looking for elite level hockey with high stakes, come support your Western Mustangs!!

Sports Enthusiast with a black/white opinion (No Grey Area).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>